To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Bean

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 606

1 2 3 4	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR WILLIAM "BUCK" STEVENS UPON BEING SELECTED TO RECEIVE THE FRED T. MAHAFFEY AWARD AS THE OUTSTANDING BOARD IN THE UNITED STATES.
5	WHEREAS, the Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy has been
6	selected to receive the Fred T. Mahaffey Award as the outstanding
7	Board of Pharmacy in the United States; and
8	WHEREAS, the award will be presented to the board members in
9	a special ceremony at the National Association of Boards of
10	Pharmacy Annual Meeting in May in Albuquerque, New Mexico; and
11	WHEREAS, this prestigious award is presented to that state's
12	board who, in the opinion of the National Association of Boards of
13	Pharmacy, has made an outstanding contribution to (a) the
14	protection of public health and welfare through the enforcement of
15	state and federal laws and regulations, and (b) has advanced the
16	objectives and goals of the association, through communication,
17	cooperation, leadership and effective enforcement; and
18	WHEREAS, this recognition is a tribute to the pharmacy board
19	and its executive director, William L. "Buck" Stevens, whose
20	efforts have challenged the profession to improve prevention and
21	therapy in infectious diseases, diabetes, asthma and many other
22	conditions; and
23	WHEREAS, the Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy has been
24	active in credentialing pharmacists in disease management,
25	drafting new regulations, registration of pharmacy technicians,
26	establishing a comprehensive internet website, and generally
27	improving the practice of pharmacy and helping pharmacists take a

- 28 more vital role in the health care process; and
- 29 WHEREAS, State Board of Pharmacy members include the
- 30 following: Leland "Mac" McDivitt, President; David Clark,
- 31 Vice-President; William Jackie Thompson, Secretary; Robert
- 32 Sullivan, Raymond Keith; Elizabeth Leflore and James Moore, Jr.;
- 33 and
- 34 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize a state
- 35 agency dedicated to improving health care quality for our
- 36 citizens:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MISSISSIPPI STATE
- 38 SENATE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we
- 39 do hereby commend and congratulate the Mississippi State Board of
- 40 Pharmacy and its Executive Director William "Buck" Stevens upon
- 41 being selected to receive the Fred T. Mahaffey Award as the
- 42 outstanding Board of Pharmacy in the United States.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 44 forwarded to Executive Director Buck Stevens on behalf of the
- 45 State Board of Pharmacy and be made available to the Capitol Press
- 46 Corps.